According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

According to a success story from Groveton College, the author claims that all colleges and universities should adopt an honor cord to reduce cheating. However, the evidence offered by the author is insufficient.

Citing a recent survey, the author says the policy of honor code likely to decrease the cheating behavior in Groveton College. Nevertheless, how many students answer the survey? Sample survey should be able to represent all students in the school, whereas in the argument, lacking information about the number of the students surveyed and the number of respondents, it is impossible to access the validity of the results. For example, if 2000 people were surveyed but only 20 responded, the conclusion that deduced by the survey would be highly suspect.

Even if the number of respondents is extremely sufficient, a standard procedure of sample survey still needs to be assured. Nonetheless, we find no sign of such processes for a random sample and have good reasons to doubt whether the sample is representative enough to reflect the general effectiveness of the honor code policy as a whole. For instance, if the surveyors only selected the respondents with higher grade and IQ in the class, there is no need for them to cheat in the class so as to get a good grade. Therefore, the consequence deduced by the survey would represent these specific respondents, not all students in Groveton College.

Even assuming that the survey is reliable and valid, the author fails to consider some possible differences between Groveton College and other schools, that might help to bring about a different result for other schools. For example, if Groveton College is a Catholic school, the religion among the students enhances their morality so as to decrease the behavior of cheating. Still, in other universities, without religion restricting their behaviors, cheating in the class may help get a good grade to make them find a better job in the labor market. Thus, without accounting for these and other possible dissimilarities, the author cannot assume that what resulted in decreasing cheating in Grove College would bring about the same result in other universities and colleges.

Most important of all, a correlation between honor code and decreasing cheating does not necessarily infer a causal relation. It may be a spurious relationship, because of the evidence provided by the author is insufficient. The first year has the 30 cases and drops to 14 years after five years, but the second, third and fourth year are missing value probably having 100 cases in each year. Without supplying the data between the first year and fifth year, it is unfair to conclude that the honor code is responsible for decreasing cheating.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide sufficient evidence as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.