According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

According to the report, the conclusion made is that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton’s, as Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code. However, to completely accept or evaluate this report, three of the following questions are needed to be answered.

Firstly, it is said that the Groveton’s honor code “replaced” a system, but doesn’t indicate what was the “system” before adopting the honor code was. What is that “system” was efficient than the honor code? The report however doesn’t present any evidence regarding what kind of system was followed before adopting the honor code, and we cannot compare whether the honor code is really as efficient as the previous system that was followed by the Groveton’s College to make sure that the students don’t cheat.

Secondly, how many teachers actually reported the cases for cheating? It might be possible that, only a few number of teachers, perhaps the same teachers were giving the reports (maybe of their own departments, and not all other departments of the college). It is however necessary to know whether the reported cases were from a certain department or from certain teachers- who every year gave the report while some of the teachers were never asked for the report. If this holds true, then it might weaken the report’s recommendation.

The students prematurely assumed that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Although the cheating rates seemed decreasing in the previous year, but how can be they sure that the overall rates might decrease? What if the new batch students would be the ones who cheat the most? Teachers will then encounter more students cheating than before. The report doesn’t provide any evidence that the student, specifically the new coming students, would never cheat, or the cheating rates won’t decrease because of their in-coming. The recommendation would be weakened if this case happens.

As all the above questions are unanswered in the report, more evidence is needed to accept the recommendation made in the report. Only if the questions are answered with relevant evidence, this report stands true and can be considered acceptable in all terms.