Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The natural habitats or wilderness areas are as important as the cities, as it is the home to the animals, just like we need the shelter to live even the animals rely on their habitats. I strongly agree with the view that states - Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain. The following two examples are the reasons why this statement is agreeable.

Firstly, many natural birds and animals are getting extinct as they have lost their habitats. Moreover, we see most of the news are flooded with the headlines stating that the animals from certain forests (which are no longer left, as humans have used them for their benefits by damaging their habitats) have been seen in the cities. Of course when humans destroy the habitats of those animals, they have no home to live and can further harm humans, or may come to cities in search of their habitats. Only if we consider to preserve the habitats of the animals, it will not only save their home but also help in environmental balance.

Secondly, if the area is developed for economic gain, it will however cause bad effect on the natural environment in the future. Example, if the wilderness area is replaced by a chemical industry, by destroying the wildlife habitat, the city will in near future face hazardious effects due to pollution. The ecological balance will be lost as there is no natural area or forest(s) left, and it may also cause serious health issues to the people living nearby. However, if it forest area is left unchanged, it will not cause harm as it would do if it was to be replaced by any industry, as explained above.

Of course some might suggest that for the better economy, wilderness areas could be used and the nation can gain profit through it, but is the an efficient solution in long term? Humans are dependent on nature, and hence for we need to preserve it for longer run, because if the natural balance is disturbed, it might eventually affect the humans, as humans are dependent on it.