According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

There are several unwarranted assumptions made in this case. Few will be discussed in next few lines.

Firstly, No details on supervision system in which teacher’s were monitoring students were provided. How are the students monitored, what is considered as cheating, criteria for exempting cheating, these has to be understood clearly. Cheating has to be clearly defined to understand the thirty cases reported by teachers. Same goes with students notifying a teacher on cheating. There should have been more elaboration on cheating policy advocated to understand assumptions considered.

Furthermore, After honor code in place, cases reported are lesser in number than compared to previous year this doesn’t mean that there has been an overall decline in cheating cases. We are unclear on the number of students who are appearing for the exam during the examination years. To add more, considering the decline in cheating cases and accepting that students will not cheat with an honor code in place is clearly an assumption without any base. Total students who took examinations in graveton college over the years can clear the air to the assumptions.

However, Students and teachers in graveton college and all other colleges are entirely different. It can’t be implied that this formula will work every where since there is no comparison between the students and their nature was made, employing same situation will lead to both sides of the coin. Considering the previous data on how often and the number of cases reported are to be analysed to implement this system.

Following the honor code can decrease the cheating cases resulting in better evaluation of the students, but this doesn’t mean same situation can best attribute the rest of universities.