According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author claims adpoting an honor code in Groveton College reduced cheating drastically compared to traditional surviellance by professors/ faculty. He also claims that all universities and colleges should adopt honor code to reduce cheating among students. The argument is based on a series of unsubstantiated arguments and therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author did not provide information about the conducted survey. How was this survey performed? Are the results verifiable and Trustworthy? The students could have connived a plot, to protect and not reveal their peers who involved in malpractices. To conduct a veritable survey in this regard, the college should have used additional source of proofs like a cctv camera for instance. It also lacks to speak for, which set of students reported for the said survey - were the students highly intellectual or average or distributed? This could have helped to get some better insight on the argument which the passage clearly didn't provide.

Moreover, the author did not specify how well the original supervision by professors were i.e. how strict were the professors were. There is a very little evidence in the shift of difficulty of exam levels. Over the years Groveton college could have reduced the difficulty level of exams thereby eliminating the need for malpracticing in the first place.

The argument doesn't tell anything about the demographics of the student pool. Cultures have a lot of impact in how the students are behaving. In some cultures students consider malpracticing as a sin and shun it. This could be one of the reason why Groveton was able to reduce cheating practices. Other colleges with varied culture heatmap would not be able to fully take advantage of the honor code.

Lastly, What kind of college is Groveton - does it specialize in harder subjects like STEM or does it work with creative subjects like Arts, Literature ?.In case of creative subjects like arts or literature where there is no single right answer, depends on unique thinking and could be traced even if someone tries to cheat, But in case of STEM subjects where a single set of procedural answer is possible thereby can be easily forged. This key info is missing, hence cannot generalize it across gamut of colleges.

In conclusion, the author's evidence lends little credible support to his allegation. To bolster the argument, the author should provide more information about the way the survey was conducted, on what set of people the survey were considered. He could also reinforce his argument by stating more information like How is the Groveton's exam pattern, student demographic, core study fields compares with all colleges.