Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The assertion whether Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students is a contentious one. On one hand free education can allow students from poor background get educated. On the other hand, providing free education can cost the government a lot. However, in the final analysis I agree that governments should provide free college and university education for free to all students.

Firstly, Knowledge is wealth. Education is a basic human right, by making it free every student can get quality education. It gives people of all walks of life access to expensive courses/interests which they could not afford otherwise. Removing the barrier created by money preventing the students from pursuing their dreams.

Such access to free education can increase the literacy rate of the country, which in turn creates more employment opportunities. Local manufacturing booms because of mass educated workers. Advancement in science, health, politics etc. happen because of diverse talent and ideologies.

Consequently, crime rates would lower down, happiness index would increase along with GDP of the country. Allows the country to be a major hub for trade, tech and many other things.

However, providing free college education can incur a lot of cost to the government. In the long run, the educated students would become responsible tax paying citizens and be paying off their cost to the government and generating additional resources like talent, resource for the country.

To sum up, it is a bit difficult for government to provide free college education to all at first but as time progresses the move will definitely improve the countries overall growth both personal and societal.