“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the advertising director follows the belief that by spending more on the advertising and promotion of the movie, the number of people watching the Super Screen-produced movies will increase. He concludes this based on the recent report from their marketing department which underlies that there has been a decline in the people watching Super Screen-produced movies as compared to any other year despite the increase in the number of positive reviews for the specified movie. Apparently by increasing the amount spent on advertising the company can ensure that the prospective viewers can be targeted and be more informed about their movies. The conclusion seems to be fallaciously based on the facts presented and lacks reasonability. Before going ahead with this plan, the Super Screen needs to address some questions about the possible flaws with the conclusion.

To begin with, the question that needs to be addressed is the lack of cogency of the report. The report does not consider the reason behind people not watching the movies. It doesn’t effectively relate the decline in the number of people not watching the movies produced by them instead it vaguely concludes through the use of ambiguous words instead of precise numbers. To get rid of this ambiguity, the company could conduct other surveys with coherently elucidated questions to establish a more concrete relationship between the reasons behind the decline.

Another possible question that requires attention is the total number of people watching movies produced by all the companies. Super Screens would have a comprehensive overview of their current standing by comparing the number of people attending movies produced by other companies to the ones produced by them. If the number of movie goers is declining as a whole then spending more to promote their own film would not fulfil the purpose of increasing the viewers of the Super Screen produced movies. Instead they should focus on attracting more viewers to the theatres by underlining the entertainment aspect attached to the experience of movie watching.

Finally, the company needs to check whether the movies produced by them are palatable to the senses of the general audience. To elaborate, there is a possibility that the movies produced by them could garner a number of positive reviews but the theatrical nuances of the movie might not be comprehensible to the general audience as compared to the pundit reviewers. If this is the case then the company could focus more on movies appealing to the sense of the general public to attract more number of viewers.

To conclude, before realizing the director’s plan, Super Screen Company should focus on an inclusive analysis of the situation at hand. They should establish a more tangible relationship through comprehensive surveys and analyse other reasons for the decline of the number of movie watchers instead of concluding based on one reason. They should also check whether the themes of the movies produced by them is in line with the taste of the general audience. By addressing such questions Super Screen Company can increase the number of people watching their movies.