A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Surrounded with a myriad of technological innovations in the current century and the need of more adpet minds at the vangaurd of research, does a general curriculum implemented at a national level do justice to the younger generation brimming with ideas and invigorating questions? Would it prepare them better before they step into their respective specilizations in college? The issue at hand, seems to think so. I on the other hand do not completely agree with the statement, since, no two human beings are born alike, let alone think alike. By precluding the growing minds of the young ones through a general curriculum, the issue might do more harm than good.

To begin with, each of us seven billion human beings are different. The way we think, the way we observe and the way we comprehend things around, differentiates us from one another. If we are so different, then how can we blanket all the students possessed with a malleable mind, under one curriculum? Consider the case of the famous physicist - Albert Einstein. His teachers, based on the elucidated guidlines in the curriculum and standardised tests had deemed him to be a child who would account to nothing in his life, but as we all know, the modern physics and mathematics would have been incomplete without his contribution. Had the curriculum under which he was castigated, been more flexible, he could have outperformed himself.

To continue, the world is currently at the behest of technological and social advancements. The time from when the student enters the high school, till the time he/she graduates, chances are, that the knowledge acquired under one national curriculum might not prepare them to make an informed decision while selecting the subjects of their choice. Instead, the student might be overwhelmed with the copious informaton, which would do more harm than good!

The proponents to the above reasoning might bring forward that such models cannot be implemented in developing nations, since, a high percentage of tax payers money would be used for training teachers and developing a curriculum tailored to the needs of the students. I agree that this may be true, adopting such curriculum would sure be a good tax saving option, but for a nation to burgeon, it's education system should be able to shape the students and prepare them better for the ever evolving world around us.

To conclude, a curriculum which is plastic to the needs of the students and at the same time inculcates the desideratums for a functioning adult to be a part of the society would be paramount not only for the students but also for the nation to flourish and be at par with this shapeshifting world.