The ancient Oppo tribe has long been thought to have hunted only with wooden spears because none of their cave paintings depict bows or arrows. Recently, however, flint arrowheads have been found among fossilized bones of ibex , animals thought to be a staple of the Oppo tribe's diet. Since these finds were made on land previously inhabited by the Oppo tribe, it follows that the Oppo used both spears and arrows to hunt.

The statement claims that the ancient Oppo trite used both spears and arrows for hunting. The conclusion is supported by cave paintings which have only spear drawings on them, flint arrowheads found with animal fossils, and the fact that the two findings were found in the Oppo’s inhabitant. However, before the assumption can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, were Ibexes only consumed by the Oppo trite? It might be possible it’s a diet for another nearby clan as well. Due to living in the same area, the food and culture of the nearby clan may have some similarities. If they live in a cold area and ibexes contain a lot of fats, every tribe in that area will aggressively hunt for Ibexes because eating ibexes’ fats can keep them warm through freezing nights. Maybe it is true that the Oppo only used spears to hunt, and those arrows were owned by another the neighboring tribe. Unless this point is addressed, the argument is still unconvincing.

Secondly, was the land only inhabited by the Oppo tribe? It might be possible that there was an invasion among tribes, and the Oppo lost the land temporarily. Only 3 years later, they were able to get the land back. Thus, it is feasible that all the historical evidence found in the land originally owned by the Oppo doesn’t belong to the Oppo’s. Maybe the invaders invented and used the arrows during their inhabitant. If the above is true, then this argument doesn’t hold water.

Thirdly, does the painting portray the truth? Perhaps the painting was drawn by someone else that was not from the Oppo tribe. There is no evidence to confirm that the painting is truthful and accurate. Perhaps the Oppo didn’t even use spears to hunt but rather rocks. However, the only reason that the cave paintings only have spears drawing on them was because the drawer that came from another tribe only knew spears as a hunting tool. Therefore, only spears were depicted in the drawing. If the above is accurate, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in term of a systematic research study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the suggestion that the Oppo trite used both spears and arrows for their hunting activity.