Students are more responsible for their educations than are their teachers.

Students and teachers are things that come and go together in educational context. ‘Teachers teach, students takes’ is a cliché that we always hear. However, it’s still equivocal when it comes to a weight of responsibility for education. The prompt states that teachers are more responsible than students. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement for the following 2 reasons.

Firstly, students themselves are the final and most important factor in their success. No one is responsible for another one’s success. Only you are responsible for yourself. For example, as a kid I always hated chemistry and I knew that it was just not for me. I didn’t understand 90% of the things that the teacher taught me. However, I realized that if I failed chemistry, it would affect my overall GPA which was important for my college application. Thus, I knew that I needed to read more and take my own time to study. It would be irrational to blame my teacher that his teaching is ineffective while I just sit and do nothing. Blaming won’t help but putting more effort will.

Secondly, responsibility is intangible. Therefore, unmeasurable. It’s unfeasible to weigh ‘responsibility’ accurately because it is subjected to one’s judgement. For example, let’s say a student has one big duty which is to learn, and a teacher has one big duty which is to teach. How do we weigh ‘to learn’ and ‘to teach’? Students might say teaching skill is more important than learning because if the teaching style is dull, even the brightest student won’t be able to tolerate and listen to it. Yet, in teachers’ perspective, teachers might argue that even though how good they prepare their materials for the class, apathy students still pay no attention to them. Moreover, even those students’ parents can’t even control their children, not to mention teachers. Once something is intangible, there is, no doubt, a lot of opinions and arguments because it’s subjective. Thus, it’s impossible to find an accurate weight on an intangible thing such as responsibility.

In conclusion, it’s undeniable that teachers must, indeed, provide the best and relevant knowledge to their classes but it’s not true that they are more liable on students’ education as mentioned in two reasons above. Essentially, it’s impossible to weigh those intangible responsibilities and conclude that one party has more duty than another.