The ancient Oppo tribe has long been thought to have hunted only with wooden spears because none of their cave paintings depict bows or arrows. Recently, however, flint arrowheads have been found among the fossilized bones of ibex, animals thought to be a staple of the Oppo tribe's diet. Since these finds were made on land previously inhabited by the Oppo tribe, it follows that the Oppo used both spears and arrows to hunt.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumptions that the Oppo tribe hunted with wooden spears for a very long time, rendering its main conclusion, that the Oppo tribe used both spears and arrows to hunt, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that cave paintings is an historical evidence which denotes tools used by the Oppo tribe for hunting. Had the argument provided information regarding the historical evidence, it would have to prove that the cave paintings were not due to tribe previously inhibited the land before the ancient Oppo tribe.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Even if flint arrowheads is discovered among the decay of ibex animals, it does not assert that the tribe used arrows to hunt. During the ancient Oppo tribe live, neighboring tribe, with more developed tools, might invade their land; taking over their resources and hunting their animals for certain period. This might be the reason while arrow head is found in the remains of dead ibex animal.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that ibex animal is part of the Oppo tribe's diet. So even if we assume that ibex animal is nutritional to the tribe, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide evidence about the biological and physical appearance of the tribe.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the Oppo tribe used both spears and arrows to hunt.