"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales

The assumptions made in the business plan by Apex Corporation are rife with fallacies. Apex Corporation has made this business plans based on assumptions which if cannot be fulfilled can end up in being a failed business plan.

First of all, it is mentioned there is an increase in demand for artisan coffee. But that is a very vague statement, the increase for artisan coffee could be only 1%, and it may not make sense to spend so much to release a new line of coffee if that is the case. Even if we consider there is a significant increase in demand for artisan coffee, maybe it is a specific product which is being sold at an extremely cheap price. Also, it doesn't mention if this increased demand is from all over the country or only a specific region within the country.

Furthermore, they plan on launching the new line of coffee in supermarkets. But it fails to mention, what percentage of their total sales comes from supermarkets right now and if people are aware of their products. As most people who will go to a supermarket have not heard of this new product they are unlikely to buy it. Another assumption that there sales will pick up on word of mouth is based on them making sales first and people liking it But if they fail to sell any coffee, there will be no word of mouth to sustain the sales. Or even worse if people don't like the coffee it would be a disaster.

Moreover, they will release this brand to several major chain restaurants, while running advertising campaign at television and radio simultaneously. Another assumption made here is that people would be convinced by the advertisement and would go out to buy this product in restaurants. But, I highly doubt people will go to restaurants to buy coffee. So if they are to advertise the product it should be done while launching it in supermarkets so that people are aware of the launch of a new product.

Finally, they are launching this product only in major supermarkets followed by several major chain restaurants. It is possible that the people who buy artisan coffee but it online or from local coffee shops, so there is no gurantee that this plan would be a success.

If we are given more information we would be able to make a better judgement on whether this business plan would be successful. Information such as how much the increased demand for artisan coffee is or the percentage of their present sales coming from supermarkets and restaurants. On top of that if we were told the cost of advertisement campaign we would be able to make a more holistic judgement but with the information present it is very likely that this business plan would fail.