The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Leaders have always been a reflection of the group they lead. When we consider political leaders, they come from within society and are chosen by the people of society. So they understand the hardships that people are going through. Even when we consider company leaders, they are a representative of the collection of employees. Hence, the best leaders always encourage feedback from whom they lead which will result in positive or negative reinforcement.

When elections take place, political leaders set out their plans for the upcoming term and address the problems that he/she would like to tackle. People elect their leaders based on these policies or plans. So it would be obvious for the leaders to take feedback from the people they are representing to understand if people are happy with how things are going. If people don't agree with some policies or changes the leaders are making, it would affect the leaders future prospects of being re-elected.

In the corporate world, such practice is extremely common. Nowadays, all managers give a feedback of the employees working under them, along with the employees giving a feedback of the leaders to the Human Resources department. This ensures that the work environment is good and people are satisfied with the direction in which things are moving. Also, teachers these days take feedback from students so the teachers can improve and work on things that will help the class be more engaging and interactive.

Furthermore, I would like to emphasize my point by citing a few examples. One of the best football coaches of all time Sir Alex Ferguson was struggling with the emergence of other competitors surpassing his Manchester United team, and he had a big spat with David Beckham which was publicized to great extent. He turned to his senior players to understand what changes could they do to the style of play or if he was doing something wrong. This led to a healthy discussion between them and Manchester United came back stronger than ever.

Similarly, Arwind Kejriwal, the Chief Minister of Delhi, has introduced a policy in which his policies and decisions can openly be criticized by people of the society. As he believes this will only lead to improvement of his decision making and in turn improve conditions. However, leaders shouldn't always do what people like and make their decisions. This is the reason why they have reached that designation and are trusted by the people to lead