Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Teaching is one of the most noble jobs in the world, however in many nations it is undermined and not given the respect it deserves. The author's suggestion is extreme and by basing teacher's salaries on students' academic performance would be unfair.

First of all, we must consider that teachers of different subjects cannot be earning the same salary. A teacher of Nanotechnology at a prestigious university ,cannot be earning the same amount to a first grade Math teacher. So we have teachers who teach different subjects and different classes and they cannot be put in the same bracket. Also, teachers have different qualifications and their earnings should be reflecting that, one teacher might be a PhD, and other teachers cannot expect to be earning as much as him.

Moreover, many teachers teach a various sets of classes and their workload and salary must be proportionate to that. For example if a teacher is teaching Math for students for all the classes of elementary school, his earnings cannot be compared to a teacher teaching English only to one particular class of students.

Furthermore, teachers who teach children with disabilities cannot be judged on the academic performance of students as compared to able children. If we implement the suggestion made, teachers might start teaching easier topics and might not teach the subjects with as much depth as they would.

Finally, if good teachers start to feel there financial aspirations are not being fulfilled they might look for jobs elsewhere and this will result in a decline of quality of education.

As education is arguably the most important part of shaping young children into mature adults, the suggestion to base teacher's salaries on their students' academic performance would definitely deteriorate the quality of education.