"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

The Apex Corporation will answer the demand for artisan coffee by introducing the Gourmet Select coffee directly into the super markets and hope for a word-of-mouth advertisement which in return would sustain the sales. Apex Corporation strongly believes that people would buy the Gourmet Select coffee from the super markets with having seen any advertisements. Further, they are confident that people would love the taste and advertise on their own and this would sustain the growth of the sales. The assumptions behind the decision are absolutely absurd and could result in the downfall of the Apex Corporation as their decision is based on several assumptions. Any of the assumptions would fail to be in accord, and the Apex Corporation would be in pit of financial loss.

Firstly, Supermarkets could abstain from buying stuff without getting reviews from a trustable source. They would analyse the coffee and refer special coffee critics before buying mainly because they have not seen it in any advertisement and would doubt it's authenticity.

Secondly, even if the supermarkets buy the Gourmet Select Coffee, most of the people are loathsome in buying and trying completely strange stuff. People tend to get attracted by advertisements and are far more likely to buy the Gourmet Select Coffee had they seen any advertisement relating to it.

Furthermore, few people might still buy and give it a try, but no one can guarantee a positive review from people. Few of the people would obviously disregard it saying the coffee was insipid based on their choices. This could be a naive decision and might result in the downfall of the Apex Corporation.

In a nutshell, the Apex Corporation could put themselves in a conundrum by following an absurd method for the sale of Gourmet Select Coffee.