"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

The argument is strongly based on the assumption that people would prefer travelling through the subway transportation system. It is also based on the assumption that the work productivity of the city Briggsville absolutely relies on the ease of transportation or the transportation facility. Further, it states that the general lack of safety would also be solved as people would spend less time stuck in traffic. The assumptions which the statement is based on could prove to be absurd. There is a high chance that any of the above mentioned assumptions go wrong and the whole system does not meet its requirements.

Firstly, the statement does not even mention the problems that could be faced during the construction of the multi-million project. X. Construction works are prone to being sporadic which means it would take years to build an effective transportation facility.

Secondly, people of the city Briggsville are accustomed to the existing transportation system which would take a lot of time to let people adjust. A lot of people would be loath to travel under the artificial lights.

Furthermore, even if the subways transportation system is successfully constructed, relating it directly to the rise in the work productivity is quite a histrionic statement.

There could be several other factors contributing to the low productivity of workers. Workers may well be lazy to get off their bed or low wages could deplete their enthusiasm and dedication towards work. There could be hundreds of reasons for bad work productivity.

Another ridiculous statement that the Mayor makes in that the economy is directly related to the work productivity. Government's other policies could hamper the economy as well. An existing war with some other country could be a part of such an economy. Lower amount of taxes would mean the government is not getting enough money to run the country. People could spend every night drinking and partying if the food and alcoholic drinks are cheaper in the town.

In a nutshell, there could be several factors for poor productivity and bad economy. Instead of relying solely on the transportation system for the crisis, the Government should analyse the functioning of the city in a careful manner.