Arctic deer live on islands in Canada’s arctic region. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of a year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed, and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the decline in arctic deer populations is the result of deer being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The decline in artic deer which lives in Canada’s arctic region is observed. The author claims that this decrease is because of the global warming trends that caused the sea ice to melt through which deer were able to travel from one island to another. However, the author’s argument is based on many assumptions which should be justified before providing any conclusion.

The habitat needs to be a mixture of hot and cold in order for deer to survive. The climate should be warm enough so that plants could survive on which they feed and cold enough to form ice which covers the sea by which they could travel over separating islands. The artic deer search for their food by migrating from island to island over the year. It might be possible that the providing source of food started decreasing as the weather conditions are extreme in the arctic region. There might also be no means of producing new sources of food. The limiting availability of food could affect the survival of the deer adversely and could cause a decline in their population. Moreover, it could also be possible that the ice does not create a concrete path which makes migrating difficult and thus, affect adversely.

The decline in the number of deer is reported by the local hunters. It might be possible that hunting is the primary reason for their early extinction in the Canadian arctic region. The author has not provided any data about the past population of the deer and the number of deer hunted. Without any promising evidence that hunters are not the reason for their decline, this possibility could not be eliminated.

Moreover, the author has stated the reason for the decline of deer is because of global warming. Based on the reports of the recent trends of global warming, the sea ice is melting. Through this report, it cannot be inferred anything about Canada’s arctic region. It might be the overall melting of ice or there might be a decline in one specific region. Moreover, the amount by which the sea ice is declined is not mentioned. The decline might be insignificant. Also, the decline of ice could be due to other factors other than global warming. The global warming reports do not justify the author’s argument.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide more data to justify the conclusion. The decline in the population of the artic deer in Canada’s arctic region could be because of various factors which should be considered and evaluated before reaching any conclusion.