The following appeared as an editorial in a wildlife journal.

"Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic region. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of a year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed, and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the decline in arctic deer populations is the result of deer being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea."

The editorial recommends that the endangered populations of arctic deer is blamed upon the animal’s inability to finish the migration across the frozen sea. The author reasons that due to the trend of the global warming resulting in the sea ice to melt. The phenomenon would thereby increase the declining rate of the deer populations. To support the argument the author points out the deer need to mover over ice from island to island and search for food,which is important for their survival. Citing the reports from local hunters,the argument indicates the decline in population of arctic deer is in accord with global warming and would therefore the effect of global warming to melt the frozen sea lead to the deer would not migrate for food as before. There are several reasons the argument for declining population caused by climate change is not convincing.

First and foremost, the author provides absolutely no evidence that the molten sea caused by global warming attributed is attributable in the decline in deer populations. The editorial overlooks the possibility that global warming had nothing to do with that population. Perhaps the number of deer herds would plummet due to the sudden rise in populations of their predator breaking the ecological balance. Either scenario, if true, would serve to undermine the manager’s claim that the influence of global warming are to be credited for the decreasing population of deer. While common sense tells us such a relationship exists, the author must provide some evidence of this cause-and-effect relationship before I can accept the author's final conclusion that the hampered migration resulting from global warming would in fact increase the death rate of arctic deer.

Secondly, the accuracy of the reports from local hunters can be cast doubt on. The author provides no evidence that the reports’ results are statistically reliable. The editorial also provides no information about how the reports were conducted. Therefore, I can not be persuaded through the information shown in the reports from local hunters.

Thirdly,whether the scope of the influence of global warming would involve in the islands that arctic deer live is uncertain. Maybe the global warming trends have no effects on the specific region mentioned by the editorial. If the assumption could be proven,then it’s not possible to make a conclusion that global warming prevents the deer from migrating to other island searching from food,thus the populations would decrease.

In conclusion, the claim is not a persuasive one. In order to convince an analytical reader, the author needs to provide clear evidence that there is an obvious cause-and-effect relationship between the frozen sea molten by global warming and the decline in deer’s populations. Also, the author needs to provide more details such as surveying time and number of survey respondents in order to make sure the accuracy of the reports from local hunters. Finally, to better evaluate the effect of global warming the author needs to provide more information for the scope of the influence.