Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the prompt that, the purported decline in deer population is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow their age-old migration pattern across the frozen sea. Additionally, argument is also supported by stating that increase in global warming trend to have caused the sea ice to melt and it’s blatant that deer cannot migrate from one island to another. However, before recommendation can properly evaluate some question must be answer.

To begin with, what if majority of deer are dying by starvation? Or what if some deer are dying due to growing with human population? Maybe, deer are moving from one island to another in search of food it is plausible that some of they are dying due to starvation which is the cause of decrease in the population of deer. On the other hand as human population burgeon, more number of construction are taking place due to that their area is decreasing day by day which is a caused of their decrease in number. If either of this case is true, then it is blatant that, conclusion drawn from the original argument does not hold water.

Moreover, what if more number of hunter has increased? Or what if demand of deer product such as skin has increased? Maybe, to exacerbate number of hunter has increased and if this is so, then, it is blatant that there is decrease in deer population. Maybe, deer’s skin and other its body product has come in demand in the market it is plausible that more number of deer’s is sacrificed for business. If this happens to be true, then conclusion drawn from the argument is attenuate and can be benighted.

Finally, what if report of local hunters is wrong? Or what if deer has already migrated to unknown area? As deer tend to migrate from one place to another in search of food it is plausible that they must have found some other location. If this is true then it attenuates the report generated by the local hunter as the local hunters are not aware of the new place where majority of deer’s has migrated. However, if this happens to be true, then conclusion drawn from the argument is false and can be ignored.

In conclusion, the reports from the local hunters, that support their claim, are dubious as well as erroneous. However, if all questions are answer and more evidence is collected then it will strengthen the report.