Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that there is a decline in the arctic deer population due to the recent global warming trends is based on reports from local hunters. The author tries to convince the reader that this decline is actually an outcome of recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, due to which the deer are unable to follow their age-old migration patterns and hence are facing extinction. While the line of reasoning is somewhat persuasive, it committed biased sample fallacy and Insufficient Statistics Fallacy. Therefore, is logically not sound.

First of all, the argument commits a biased sample fallacy. The author concluded reports provided by a group of local hunters, It is possible that the hunters who reported the decline are not a very reliable source of this information. The argument cast aside the opinion of census data, research scholars as well as views of environmentalists on this particular issue. So, the author should address the views of some reliable sources to support his argument.

Secondly, the author states that the primary reason behind the declining population of the deer is due to the repercussions of global warming, which a very hasty generalization there may be many other and more significant reasons for the downfall of this particular fauna in the region. The author omits some of the major facts such as the presence of poachers in the region which may be using the deer as their primary target, local residents might be hunting these artic deers for their security or as their meat source.

Finally, the argument potentially stated that due to the consequences of global warming the deers might have been unable to follow their old migration patterns which is quite flawed as many researches have suggested that animals are quite adaptive in nature they tend to mold themselves to survive in challenging conditions hence they might have been successful in developing new patters across the frozen area. Hence, this assumption is flawed and needs to be scrutinized thoroughly.

In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since it overlooks many possibilities that must be addressed to strengthen its statement. If it included the items described above, it may be more strong or persuasive.