Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage claims that recent global warming has caused deer populations in Canada’s arctic regions to decline, arguing that the elevation of temperature results in the melt of ice, making it impossible for arctic deer to migrate to warm places of sufficient food throught the year. This argument may appear logical at the first glance, but is based on unsubstantiated evidence when examined closely. The author made wrong assumptions about the following three facts.

To begin with, the fact that deer population is declining is unwarranted. Gaining this information from local hunters, the author does not provide a reliable source of information. It could be that the deer simply migrate on to other islands, and therefore move out of the sight of the hunters. It could be that a large group of deer detect the hunter and decide to move away from such danger. Alternatively, it could simply be a false perception of the reporting hunter. The conduction of a valid census is needed to get a reliable number of deer population. We can then determine whether deer population indeed declines.

Another problem is that, the mere fact of global warming is insufficient evidence to conclude that sea ice truly melted in Canada’s arctic regions. There is no concrete evidence suggesting that ices in the artic regions are truly melting. These regions are in the very north part on earth and might not be substantially influenced by the trend of global warming. If the ices do not melt, the claim that deer are unable to cross the ocean due to global warming could not stand.

Even if the deer populations are truly declining, and if the sea ice does melt in such a great amount that the deer is no longer able to mrgrate to other islands, there is no substantiated causal relationship between the two facts. Just because the two events happen at the same time does not necessarily means that one causes another. The reduction in deer population could be caused by many other factors, including overhunting, the deterioration of local habitats, and the increased amount of predators. Further evidence and argument connecting the two facts and indicates a causal relationship is missing.

Global warming does have adverse impact on numerous creatures around the world, affecting both animals and plants. It is possible that artic deer is dieing out due to global warming. However, without convicing evidence, the author fails to persuade me of such influences.