Argue 1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this manuscript, the author mentioned that the Palean baskets may not uniquely Palean. Although it may seem sound at first glance, but the lack of specific pieces of evidence leads me to question about this argument.

First, the author should provide the specific evidence that the particular distinctive pattern on woven baskets are made by ancient Palean people. Since it is long time ago, the crack or morphological change, for example by climate change, may induced on the woven basket naturally, not intentionally. Furthermore the ancient people possibly not have the skill of post-treatment on woven materials, the aging may easily affected to the woven materials. Even if the distinctive pattern was made by Palean people, it may not made by Paleans, but given to Paleans as present from visitors. Thus, the author should provide more concrete evidence about the relationship between particular distinctive pattern and the proof that the pattern was carved by Palean people.

Moreover, the author should suggest the specific evidence that the Paleans cannot cross the river. The author mentioned that the Paleans cannot cross the river because no Palean boats have been found. However, since it is far past, so the excavation of the boat, the woven material even used on the water, is extremely hard. In addition, the river in that time may not deep like nowadays in past. In this case, the Paleans may cross the river on foot. Therefore, the author should provide more credible evidence about the suggested fact that the Paleans cannot cross the river.

Lastly, the author should suggest the sufficient evidence that the Palean basket found in Lithos is originated from Lithos people, not Palean people. Since we did not know the situation of ancient times, we cannot hashly conclude about the life of ancient people. It may given from Palean people, or it is possible that the woven bakset may generally used in ancient time. Thus, the author should add the enough evidence that the Palean basket found in Lithos is originated from Lithos people to make his/her argument more sound.

In conclusion, although the suggested pieces of evidence can be interpreted as the suggested manuscript, but it is not the only conclusion that can be concluded from this pieces of evidence. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should give more specific evidences that can supplement the abovementioned questions.