Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have

previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were

believed to have been unique to the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a

"Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep

and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could only have crossed it by boat, but there is no evidence that the

Paleans had boats. And boats capable of carrying groups of people and cargo were not developed until

thousands of years after the Palean people disappeared. Moreover, Paleans would have had no need to cross the

river—the woods around Palea are full of nuts, berries, and small game. It follows that the

so-called Palean baskets were not unique to Palea

The author recommends that the so-called Palean baskets were not unique to Palea.To support this recommendation the author points out that the ancient Paleans could only have crossed the Brim River by boat and they would also have had no need to cross the river.The author also cites archaeologists’ finding that "Palean" basket was discovered in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea.There are several reasons why this argument for the archaeological interpretation of Palean baskets is not convincing.

The first problem with this argument is that,even though the Brim River remains very deep and broad now,it is not clear in this study whether the current conditions at the Brim River are the same as they used to be in Palean times.During a sufficiently long interim period the geographic condition of the river might have changed. If the fact in the past was in the opposite of the present, then the ancient Paleans would not cross the river by boat.Thus it is impossible to conclude that the ancient Paleans could only have crossed it by boat.

Secondly,the author fails to consider the possibility that the Paleans may arrived in Lithos through other means.The author unfairly assumes that crossing the river was the only way for the ancient Paleans to leave their village. Lacking evidence that crossing the river is inevitable, it is entirely possible that they could take the carriage on the land to Lithos rather than cross the river by boat.

Thirdly,the author's assumption that the only reason for the ancient Paleans to cross the river was for acquiring resources village of Palea lacked is invalid,because it's more likely that they could arrive other place for many other possible purposes such as trade, or cultural exchange. Therefore,it is insufficient to testify that Paleans would have had no need to cross the river.

Finally,the author points out that there are abundant resources currently-the woods around Palea are full of nuts, berries, and small game.But the author assumes without justification that the background conditions have remained the same at different times or at different locations,because the fact that there are abundant resources does not indicate that those resources also existed in Palean times.So it is not a sound evidence to draw a conclusion that Paleans would have had no need to cross the river.

In conclusion, the recommendation that Palean baskets didn’t merely belong to the Paleans is ill-founded. To strengthen this recommendation the author would have to demonstrate that current condition of surroundings around the village of Palea remains the same as the past condition. The author must also provide clearer evidence that crossing the river was the only mean through which Paleans arrived in Lithos and they went elsewhere just to acquire resources.All that has been shown so far is a correlation between these events.