Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people Recently however archaeol

In this argument, the author claims that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. To substantiate this argument, the author provides the fact that archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos and there is a very deep and broad Brim River. However, the line of reasoning is questionable and the author has to provide more evidence to make the argument convincing.

First, the author has to provide evidence as to whether the Brim River can be cross by swimming. It is possible that the individuals who are proficient at swimming can cross the river without the help from boats. Without ruling out this possibility, the argument is unreliable since the "Palean" basket in Lithos can be transported from Palean manually.

Second, another piece of evidence is needed to determine whether there are Palean boats which has not been found yet. No Palean boats having been found does not mean that Palean boats do not exist and it is possible that Palean boats may be found in the future. Therefore, "Palean" basket in Lithos may be transported Palean by boat. The argument is questionable unless ruling out this possibility by providing further evidence.

Third, the most important evidence needed is about whether there was a deep and broad river in the prehistoric time. It is possible that there was no transportation obstacle in the prehistoric time even though there is the Brim River nowadays because of climate change. In this case, residents in Palean easily took woven baskets to Lithos. Therefore, the argument is unconvincing without ruling out this possibility.

To sum up, the author fails to substantiate this argument since the evidence cited cannot lend credible support to what the author maintains. To make the argument more convincing, the author has to provide more evidence as mentioned above.