ARGUMENT TASK

The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author state that two large department stores of Wiston City: Namen and Roscoe are considering opening another store at suburb of Salem. Because the population of Salem has grown in the last three years and the median income is $ 75,000. Therefore, the statement claims that both stores will have more benefit, in comparison with one another. The author claim is based on a stated and unstated assumption that need logical evidence.

Firstly, Both the store is considering opening a new store in a growing suburb of Salem. As Salem population has grown over 50% and the median income is $ 75000. Here, the author has failed to mention about exact increment in population. Is population consist of wealthy citizens or it is an area of local workers as Salem is mentioned as a suburb. Further, it states that the median income is $ 75000. Is it calculated based upon the income of each citizen? it can also be an industrial area, which can be a large production to have such a huge amount of income. Based on this statistical data, where the author has not mentioned it specifically. It can be possible that both the store will be in benefit.

Secondly, the Author stated Namen's executives argue that people will be willing to spend more money on clothing because of the increase in population and median income. The author has failed to mention the type of citizens who live there. Choice and trend of clothing fashion can also affect sales of Namen store. Similarly, Roscoe believes that they will have more benefit than Namen, author assume that suburban citizen will be more family-oriented. The profit of Roscoe will depend upon how many families live, which is not mentioned exactly. Fact totally depends upon statistical data.

Hence, the Author has failed to mention exactly about exact population increment, type of citizen live and what are their monthly income