Do you agree or disagree with the following statement For students the ability to listen well is as important as the ability to read well is just as important as the ability to read well.

language proficient person is considered equivalently perfect in writing, speaking, reading, and listening. To understand a native person, one must have a good understanding of all four sections mentioned above. In general, one should be efficient enough to understand any language easily and clearly so that we should not face difficulty interpreting the actual meaning because the intention of that message can get distorted if it is not conveyed and understood properly. therefore, I believe that students must also pay the same attention to their reading as well as listening ability. I feel this way for two reasons which will be elaborated on in the following essay.

Firstly, students read many articles and journals in their school and college but they do not have a good ability to listen properly. sometimes, they miss more important messages which could have helped them. For Instance, When I was in college and preparing for the TOEFL exam, an English proficiency test. (In the exam, there is a listening section where we have to hear a conversation and then answer a few questions.) I remembered I score very less, because my ability to understand the listening passage, was very poor, I was always in hurry to jot down everything I hear instead of analyzing the main concept of the conversation. Later, I understand that listening is also as important as reading. we can change the whole thought of the passage if we don't understand it or listen to it. Hence, students should also pay attention to their listening ability along with other factors such as writing, speaking, and reading.

Likewise, In our daily life, human has a habit to speak more and listen less. sometimes, we become so self-obsessed that we forget what the other person is talking about. this behavior is unconsiderable in the real world. therefore, students should also pay attention to the ability to understand, by listening, what other people want to convey. In the future, this will definitely help them avoid unnecessary problems related to miscommunication or misinterpretations.

To sum up, I believe that students should pay equal attention to listening as well as reading because of the reasons mentioned above.