Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The note presented by the Advertising Director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that there are a decrease in attendance and popularity of the movies on the last past year. Despite the fact this statement comes from an important job post in the company, it is based in a report with no evidence or specific data which would allow this assertion be not considered unwarranted.

In this case, the mistakes begin already in the first phrase, in that the director states that “fewer” people attended the movie’s company, it doesn’t mention any number or percentage. This also doesn’t have any other report comparison from previous years, which would be very important to evaluate how many individuals the company lost in audience. Also it is crucial to know in a study of public viewers, the location this survey has undergo, if it was with a certain age range or even if it was about just one movie. All those aspects matter to construct a study background for post analysis and formulate a report hence it is possible the company conducted the survey for the first time and have no clue on how to derivate results from it.

Further, this information’s omission turns to happen again in the second phrase that he mentions the percentage of positive reviews increased during the past year and continues in the next line concluding that it is not reaching prospective viewers. In this case, there is another flaw because if there are more reviews it could mean that the audience is becoming more cinephile and critical or they were just not giving reviews before and now they want to spend more time doing so. Since it is not possible to accurate these numbers and there is no percentage in the note, it passes the impression of unreal data due to its controversial compilation and pertains to ambiguity. The statement should specify this approach with numbers, showing the previous reviews and correlate with the current scenario.

Therefore, in the note is also stated that the problem is not the quality of their movies but the public’s lack of awareness of good movies available and consequently the company should allocate greater budget next year to larger the public’s reach. Similarly to all assumptions before, his conclusion is similarly unfounded due to the absence of data. The author established his judgment without trustworthy statistical information and advised wrongly Super Screen Company, so according to me the recommendation is unreasonable.