Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument that states the Super screen should allocate a greater share of their budget next year to reach the public through advertising is not completely sound and ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument states that the percentage of positive reviews has increased over the past year, however, it does not state the amount that the positive reviews have increased. This percentile increase could be very small, therefore, not have any major significance on the amount of positive reviews that Super Screen-produced movies are actually recieving. Therefore, the thought of allocating more money towards marketing, may not be the solution to their issue.

Secondly, the argument assumes that Super Screen is not performing enough movie advertising right now. No where in the argument do they speak about the modes or intensity of the type of marketing that they are currently performing . Additionally, they don't speak of how much they allocate on certain movies, whether it be on the blockbuster hits or a local indie film.. For all the reader knows, they are not performing any type of movie advertisement since no information is given. Therefore, allocating additional money towards advertising, may not fix the issue.

Lastly, the argument assumes that the type of movies that the reviewers are giving positive reviews to are movies that the public would enjoy. Movie reviewers review all movies, as it is part of their employment. If during the time of more positive movie reviews, there was an abundance of horror movies released and the general public did not enjoy this genre, fewer people would be attending Super Screen-produced movies. Therefore, the issue may lie in other places, and not for the lack of advertising.

Ultimately, the argument that Super Screen should allocate greater share of its budget next year for advertising is flawed. The evidence in support of this conclusion includes not including information regarding the increase in marks, what type of marketing they are performing currently, and that the general public wants to see the genre of movies that are being released. Ultimately, this argument would be improved if the author included information regarding actual statistics from the marketing department, details on their current marketing strategy, and information regarding the type of movies that the general public enjoys to view.