In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the prompt that, number of accident in Prunty County has not decreased in spite of lowering speed limit. So it is suggested that Prunty County should take same kind of road project that Butler County completed five years ago because after that Butler County road accidents have reduced by 25 percent than previous year. However, before implementing this project idea some question must be answered.

To begin with, what is the population of Prunth County as compare to Butler Count? And what is the rate on increasing population in Prunth County as compared to Butler County? Maybe population of Prunth County is more than Butler County. If this is true than it is quite blatant that number of vehicles running on the road of Prunth County is more than Butler County so it is blatant that accident in Prunth County will be more than Butler County. Maybe Prunth County is developing area so population in that County is burgeoning day by day as compare to Butler County. If, this is true than there are more number of vehicles in Prunth County compare to Butler County. If we consider all these assumptions true, than no matter how wide road is constructed accident rate will not decrease.

Secondly, what is the geographical and climatic condition of Prunth County compare to Butler County? Maybe Prunth County is in high altitude region where they frequently exp rain. If this is true than it is blatant that road will become slippery and it will increase the rate of an accident furthermore, if Prunth County is located in high altitude area than it is very difficult increase the size of the highway. If, this all assumption is considered to be true then conclusion drawn from the prompt to increase the size of a highway does not hold water.

Finally, how frequently people in that area use highway? Or do they have any alternative highway or road which makes connection more flexible? Maybe, Prunth County have only one highway which is taken by all local people to go to their working place which is increasing more crowd on that highway due to it chance of accidents are increasing on the other hand in Butler County there is alternative road made so traffic is divide in half on their highway and that road which result into fewer accidents in that County. If, this happens to be true then conclusion drawn from the original argument are weakened and it does not hold water.

In conclusion, the evidence provided in this prompt is dubious as well as erroneous. If all above question are answered and more evidence is provided than it will help to make argument more strong.