In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes that Prunty County should take the same measures that Butler County took to improve their highway safety. This proposition is based on an argument that the road improvement measures improved the highway safety of the Butler County and they recorded fewer accidents in the County. However, this argument is flawed and based on unwarranted assumptions which will be highlighted in the following paragraphs.

First, the argument that the implementing the kind of road improvement project done in Butler County will lead to the same effect in Prunty County is not entirely true. Butler County and Prunty County are not the same and may not have exactly the same characteristics. Perhaps, the road use rules and regulations and population may be different in both Counties and these factors may also be contributing to the highway safety. For example, if the Prunty County has a higher proportion of young people which may be reckless in driving, the road improvement might not still improve the highway safety. This argument would have been strengthened if the author provided an objective evidence to show that both Counties are exactly similar in all aspects.

Furthermore, the author claims that the road improvement project in Butler County solely led to the highway safety, however, there is not substantial evidence to support this claim. What if there were other factors that the County put in place that the author did not consider. For instance, the highway patrol in the Butler County may be stricter and the County might have enacted stringent laws for defaulters which makes the road users more cautious. Therefore, this argument might have been more effective if the author had holistically assessed other factors that might influenced the cautious road usage.

In addition, the author’s argument that because there were fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago automatically implies that there were fewer accidents is flawed. What if not all the cases get reported because the accident victims did not want to involve the highway patrol? What if the accidents were not ghastly or they did not involve destruction of the government properties, hence they were taken lightly? Therefore, the claim does not hold water. However, this would have been substantial if the author objectively assessed the accidents that occur on the highway rather than making assumptions based on the number of reported cases.

In conclusion, based on the above stated shortcomings, the author’s argument is flawed and the proposal is not logical. Further evidence will be needed to evaluate and improve the argument to make the proposal acceptable