In an attempt to improve highway safety Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways But this effort has failed the number of accidents has not decreased and based on reports by the highway patro

The cynosure of the statement is to improvise the road infrastructure of Prunty county to reduce the road accidents. There are some analysis, like previously failed implementations and example of Butler County, provide in the statement to support improvisations. At first glace, the statement seems appropriate and convincing, but on in-depth analysis we can find various assumptions made that to weaken the statement.

The first statement states that Prunty County lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour but the many drivers were observed to not abide by the rules thus leading to accidents. Here, we need to have data on whether the members or drivers involved were well-informed of the speed limit or not. For example, there could be a probability that there we no road signs of speed limit or they were not changed from initial 55 limit. Thus, lack of awareness could have led to such circumstances. Also, there is no record of the other reasons of accidents. There might be multiple intersections in the infrastructure where accidents were observed and they are in dire need of traffic lights. If our reasoning made is apt, then instead of widening the roads, the need would be of traffic lights. Hence, in this case we do need information on the interconnections of roads and the signs which warn the drivers of the rules.

Moreover, we will also need the information on road improvements done in Butler county and their direct impacts on the accidents. We could spot the lightt on the fact that the areas where improvement were done, were not the areas where accidents were frequent before changes were done. Also, the areas even after improvisation might have the same rate of accidents. Some other policies on other regions of butler county would have likely observed reduction in accidents thus impacting the overall rate of butler county. This would imply that even after upgrades in road in the county, the reduction in accidents was not directly proportional ot it. It would suffice the need of Prunty County to resurface or widen the roads.

Another important statistic required is on the population of Prunty County which is not stated in the statement. On considering the fact that all the resurfacing and widening of roads are done, there might not be enough traffic for Prunty county which would also lead to increase in speed of the drivers( that was stated as the primary reason for accidents). The need for road resurfacing the butler county could have been the increase in population due to increase in educational or working opportunities, which might not be the same case for Prunty county. Thus the improvisation might lead to a reverse in reason of implementation in this case.

On concluding the assumptions and the data, it is necessary for us to understand that before enhacing the roads we have prerequisites to study on: the current road infrastructure(Intersections, signals and signs); region based data of Butler county(accidents observed on improvised sections); and population observations( of both the countys). This would enable to either weaker or bolster the statement and conform to it.