In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The argument that prunty county should emulate the road improvements that increase lane widths resurfaces rough highways, and improves visibility at dangerous intersections that are flowed. In this argument, the author not only draws a conclusion from a vague and ambiguous term, but also uses a limited sample for making a sweeping generalization statement for the entire population. Furthermore, the author make the argument just focusing on the road improvements which can be a factor to decrease the number of accidents, while ignoring the percentage of accidents by county’s population and other factors.

To begin with, the author draws a conclusion with a perception that sets a speed limit is useless for decreasing the number of accidents. In order to strengthen his argument, he states that the county government lower the speed limit fail to decrease the chance of accidents. The main reason why it did not give a better result is that drivers are still over speeding on the highway. however, the author doesn’t mention how the government informed its resident of the change of speed limits and how to punish those drivers who drove the autos exceeding the speed limits. The author fails to persuade the readers how the government enforced the speed limit. Instead, he just blames on the quality of infrastructure. Since the author fails to provide more details on government operations on enforcing the newest policy and whether the local residents know the change of speed limit, this point of a conclusion is not sufficient.

Secondly, the author states a series of number regarding to other county as a comparison. For making his point of argument, he tells the accident number is getting lower through the last five years while ignoring the basic demographic information about that county. The author should tell the readers more about the population change in both prunty county and bulter county for the past five years. it could be a possibility of fewer accidents that the entire population of bulter county is decreasing. Besides, the author just mentioned the major roads in bulter county but not all highways, which is a selection sample error that cause this argument not that credible. while the author ignores the points of population change and selects wrong samples, this argument is not accurate.

In conclusion, the author could strengthen the argument by providing more details on the operation of government to its residents, comparing county’s population change, and the non-major roads’ speed limit. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed by the reason indicated.