In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author assumes that due to policy failure, Prunty County should follow same kind of road improvement project that Butler County forced. However, the recommendation is unwarranted because there are lacking many pieces of crucial evidence to support the recommendation.

To begin with, the author relies on reports by the highway patrol to suggest that many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. However, the highway patrol does not mention the exactly number of drivers who are exceeding the speed limit as a cogent evidence. Specifically, only one thousand drivers are exceeding speed limit, and fifty thousand drivers attend the survey, which only represent the tenth of flows of cars on highway one day. As a result, the reports by the highway patrol can only represent the minority of drivers who are exceeding the speed limit, and this reports might not reveal most drivers’ behavior towards exceeding speed limit.

Secondly, the arguer’s recommendation relies on what might be a poor analogy between Prunty County and Butler County. However, it is entirely possible that since Butler County have larger economy than Prunty County, Butler County can force such a useful programs to facilitate highway. Whereas Prunty County is incapable of forcing these projects. So, additional evidence that is relative to financial condition of two county is needed. Without accounting for such possible differences between Prunty County and Butler County, the arguer cannot prove that Prunty County will reap the similar benefits from proposed methods.

Finally, based on the fact that fewer reported accidents in Butler County after forcing road improvement projects, the editor infers that forcing road improvement project should be responsible for fewer accidents in Butler County. However, the sequence of these events does not suffice to prove that improvement projects caused the reducing accidents. It might have resulted from some other events instead: higher moral drivers in Butler than Prunty County, or higher fine in exceeding speed limit to just a few possibilities. Thus, an evidence that can indicate Prunty county and Butler County have same condition should be offered in order to provide a reasonable recommendation. Without ruling out scenarios such as these, the editor cannot establish a cause-and-effect relationship between Prunty County and Butler County.

To sum up, if author can offer more pieces of evidence: the exactly number of drivers who exceeds the speed limit and the evidence that can indicate two county have similar condition, including economy and culture literacy, the recommendation could be more reasonable.