In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has stated to improve the highway for safety purposes to control the accidental in Prunty County eg: increasing lane width, resurfacing the highway, and improve the visibility at a dangerous intersection. The author has concluded this based on the same issues that happen in Bulter County, they thereby improve the highway and the accident percentage was dropped by twenty-five percent in the past year. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated properly, three-question must be answered.

First of all, are Prunty County and Bulter County are roughly comparable? In other words, can circumstances from one highway to another highway be used to generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that the situation of Prunty and Bulter County may be dissimilar. Suppose Prunty County highway passes through the hilly terrain area and there as difficult turning road whereas the Bulter County highway is mostly straight roads. Moreover, the rules of Bulter County are way more strict than Prunty highway, so therefore the accident percent has been reduced over past years. If either of the statement has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author mentioned that last year Prunty County make the rule that there is a speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. Are these rules are followed properly?. It is possible that the speed limit board has not been visible to drive so that they should drive within the speed limit. However, they should make a big signboard with a speed limit so that drivers can view it properly. Moreover, they should also make a strict rule that if someone crosses the speed limit they should have pay the fine. For this, they should appoint an in charge to look over the rule, and simultaneously they also catch the driver whoever breaks the rule. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, the author suggested that to improve the highway to overcome the problem of accidents. By improving the highway the problem of accidents can be diminished or wear out? It is possible that by making the highway better, the driver will increase his speed because the road has become nice. If the driver drives a car or truck faster there is more possibility of a happening accident. If either of the statement has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence. (perhaps is able the form of a systematic study), then it will possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to improve the highway of Prunty County.