The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter Gorman Instruments, a company that manufactures saxophones.

"On this year's survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require employees at Dexter Gorman Instruments to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Human Resources director makes a recommendation that the company president should require employees to complete their work during the regular work hours and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances. This recommendation is based on an argument that the result of an internal study showed that spending an increased amount of time on a task does not significantly improve the quality of the task. However, this argument is based unwarranted assumptions and the following three questions will need to be answered to make the argument logical.

First, the director assumed that the result of the study is accurate. This may not be entirely true. What if the study was conducted among those who are naturally slow in accomplishing tasks? What if the sample of employees the study involved is not a true representation of the entire staff population? What if some employees were not present at work when the study was conducted especially those that did not make much errors? It might also be that those that participated in the study were scared that the results of their study will be made known to the company president and that they would lose their job if they went against the company’s wishes. Therefore, the director’s claim that the recommendation can be based on the finding of the study is not reasonable and the director needs to provide more answers to the highlighted questions to make the argument substantial.

Furthermore, the director’s argument that the overtime does not improve the quality of the task because the employees that had more errors were those in the overtime group is flawed. What if the people in the overtime group are the newly employed employees? What if they are not as skilled as those in the other groups? What if the cause of their overtime is because they are trying so hard to figure out the task? For instance, a newly employed staff who just graduated from the university and do not have walk experience on saxophone manufacturing may struggle to complete the assigned task because lack of necessary experience. Hence, these questions need to be answered to strengthen the argument. The director should also consider the skillset and experience level of the employees before making the comparisons between the overtime workers and the regular time workers.

In addition, the argument that the overtime workers made more errors because the documents were observed to be so is not entirely true. What if the individual that looked at the documents did not scrutinize effectively? What if the documents that were looked into were those that had more errors? The observation or report from a few documents inspected may not be substantial enough to make such conclusion made by the director.

In conclusion, if the director can explicitly state the answers to these highlighted questions, this will provide more evidence and basis to evaluate the recommendation, thereby improving the quality of work produced by the employees of Dexter Gorman Instruments.