"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends the town council of Balmer Island to limit the number of mopeds rented by the islands’s moped rental companies from 50 per day to 12 per day during summer season. This recommendation is justified by the author by stating that the reductions in accidents by 50 percent annually was achieved by neighbouring island of Seaville, when Seaville’s town council enforced a similar limit on moped rentals. In several respects, however, the evidences lends little credible support to the argument.

Firstly, the data that just by enforcing a limit on moped rentals the number of accidents reduction was by 50 percent is unbelievable as accidents happen due to various other reasons like the negligence of the driver, improper road signs or signals, improper maintenance of the roads, age limit of the drivers and not just on the number of vehicles on the roads. These other factors should be taken under consideration before comparing the islands.

Secondly, the population of Seaville island is not known. It could be that the population there is much larger compared to Balmer Islands and hence the introduction of such a law was helpful in reducing the accidents.

Additionally, the traffic laws also play a very important role in accident reduction. The traffic rules maybe lenient on Balmer islands and hence just by mere reduction in number of mopeds on the roads won’t reduce the number of accidents.

Finally, without any additional information about the population of both the islands in comparison decision should not be taken. More information regarding the causes of the accidents in Balmer island should be known rather than by jumping to the conclusion that accidents happen just due to more no of mopeds on the streets. A survey regarding the strictness of traffic laws should be carried out and how these laws may be responsible for the accidents should be evaluated.