Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author suggests that the obesity rate will decline to a level lower than national average because the healthier lifestyle is prevalent in Benton city. I understand the health food is vital for people and they probably get healthier by changing their diet and less the obesity. however, the argument is rife with questionable connection and inference and the author has to reply some questions of detail.

The writer claims that a recent survey of dwellers’ eating habits compelling with the nutrition recommendation by government. Still, is the questionnaire credible and what’s the validation of the scope? For example, the survey could be designed as 20 pages with only 2 questions about if they’re following the nutritional guideline from government. Or even the relevant question is roughly designed with bias and just a simple choice between eating fast food daily or government suggested nutrition diet and this tend to sway people choosing the latter one for better impression. The author has to answer the question to strengthen the argument.

even if the questionnaire is well-designed by an authoritative institution and the scope is fully valid. Nevertheless, do the residents have the ability to answer what kinds of nutrition they eat? And how much of each type of nutrition they eat? For example, people who don’t know about the nutrition knowledge are barely to distinguish what kind of ingredient in their diet, such as protein, fat and carbohydrate. people may just fill in the form by their intuition, not relying on science classification and this would affect considerably the reliability of the results of the survey. The author needs to answer to make the argument more plausible.

Additional, from the basic point of view, the author claims that the positive changes in the eating habits would cause the obesity rate dropping in Benton city. It is unclear, however, the connection between eating habits and obesity. is the healthier eating style reducing obesity? this connection could be plausible, maybe health food tends to make people feel full with much lower calories compared to fast food. Besides, processed food tends to have high sugar and oil and leads people to be obese. Conceivably, people in Benton city get slender and obesity rate drops tremendously by changing diet. On the contrary, the connection could be substantially wrong. probably people think that they could eat as much as possible as long as they eat health food. Surprisingly, they get much obsess than they were before because of triple calories intake than previous diet. The author has to answer the question to make the argument more persuasive.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the questions mentioned above in order to make argument more convincing.