The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author recommends an investment in oil retailers, called Consolidated Industries because upcoming freezing weather results in increasing oil demand for more newly built houses to heat and oil is a primary source to heat house. It is easy to understand why residents need more oil, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and unsubstantiated to invest in oil retailers.

In the paragraph, the author implies that if the investment is not executed, the oil demand will not satisfy demand and become shortage in the future. it could be true if the oil supply is already mostly reaching the production upper limitation. For example, , say, current the demand of the oil occupies 90% of oil retailers’ capacity and there is 10% increasing need per year in the following years due to colder weather. nevertheless, it can’t be a cogent reason to invest retailers because of the assumption is unclear and unwarranted. For example, the demand may occupy only 10% retailers supply currently, and there is only 5% increasing rate in the following years. In this case, there is no urgent demand in current status and no rush to increase oil production. only the author can elaborate on the utilization rate about supply and demand, the implication is not convincing.

Additionally, the author suggests that area experienced 90 days with below normal temperatures in last heating season and the same weather pattern persist in several years by forecasts. The statement may be a truth. For example, if an authoritative or official weather bureau made the climate forecasts due to this particular climate patterns will exacerbate freezing in the following years and 90 days low temperature is just a start of the case, the heating demand will conceivably increases. nevertheless, the strategy or direction could be totally different if the prediction is not reliable, because increasing oil demand is based on upcoming colder weather. For example, if an inexperienced college studying in climate engenders this forecasts, the result is not obviously cogent. Unless the weather prediction is fully representative, valid and reliable, it can’t be used to back the author’s argument.

Building upon the insinuation that current oil supply of retailers are barely to cope with upcoming increasing demanding in the future. The author suggests investing oil retailer to supply the arisen demanding of petroleum. this assumption could be correct if the petroleum supply bottleneck is the amount of oil for retailers to import from oil manufacturer to local oil stores. For example, because retailers do not have enough budget to import oil to supply the increased demand, investment conceivably helps them to import more oils to sell and satisfy the demand. However, if the supply bottleneck does not present in the retailers, but the manufacturers. For instance, given that oil manufacturers production speed is slow due to insufficient equipment, investing retailers is barely to help escalate oil supply. Regardless if the retailers are able to use money to expand the supply or not, the author does not effectively show the connection between retailers investment and demand satisfactory.

Because the decisive action of arguments highly depends on these assumptions and there exists unsubstantiated implications, therefore the author needs to answer the above questions to strength his or her argument.