The city council of Town x has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in the public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

The above argument made by the city council is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that the cost of using light emitting diodes (LEDs) is equal to that of incandescent bulbs, rendering the main conclusion the city of X can reduce electric cost in future which is flawed.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the cost of using LEDs is similar to that of incandescent bulbs. For instance, the expenses of using LEDs might be higher than that of bulbs, which will not help the city council to curtail it’s electric expenses. More significantly, there might be significance difference in the durability of LEDS and that of incandescent bulbs. The LEDs could last lesser period and needs to change frequently and if this might be the case then the city council’s plan to reduce electric cost would not work. Had the argument provide any information regarding the cost of installing LEDs. If we suppose that the cost of installment of LEDs is lower than that of bulbs, even then the argument would have to further prove that, like the incandescent bulbs, those of LEDs would also last for the same period of time.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Even if the cost of installment of LEDs is not higher than that of incandescent bulbs, there might be extra expenses for setting up of LEDs. LEDs might not fit to the existing settings and then the city council might need to set up new systems for using LEDs and this will results in augmentation of electric costs. Nonetheless, the argument assumes that using the LEDs would help the city council to cut down the electric costs.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that the switch to LEDs from incandescent bulbs would help to reduce the electric expenses of city council. This shifting might arise other negative consequences. For instance, as the LEDs burn brighter, it would use more power, which might produce extra heat. For this reason, the usage of air condition by the city people would increase. If this thing happens, then the city council’s plan of reducing electric cost would fail.

Because, the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the shift from incandescent bulbs to LEDs would help the city council the electric costs.