Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying

Some people believe that universities should adapt stringent policies, which requires the student to take courses only within their own area of study. Other group argues and advocates for implementing the rules for the students to take courses from diversified fields. I believe that students should focus on their respective fields and study courses related to their own filed for few reasons. In the following few paragraphs, I will elaborate my reasoning.

Student life is the seeding time and the success of a man mostly depends on how well he used her student life. During this life, student should focus on the tasks which help him to be ace in their respective field. Because now-a-days of competitive age without specialization, it is very difficult to reach at the acme of any profession. For example, a bio-chemist with well rounded knowledge may able to enter his respective job, but without specialization knowledge, he could not distinguish himself from others and this hinders him to reach at the zenith of his career. Furthermore, during student time the brains of a student remain so sharp that they can easily develop expertise in any field which also last for long.

During student life, student usually faces economic crisis and if they are compelled to take courses from other discipline then it will be burden for them. Being forced to take courses from diversified field, they become financially looser as well as they wastes their valuable time. The time that they spend on taking courses from other discipline can spend on to be expert on their respective field. For example, a medical student requires to take language course and the student have to spend reasonable time to pass the course because it is the mandatory requirement set by the university authority to graduate. To fulfill this requirement student have to spend valuable money as well as valuable time which he can spend to read his major courses. Thus, the requirement of taking courses from diversified field is economically burden as well it is wastage of valuable time of the students.

Though students should develop expertise in their respective field, they should also have knowledge from other area to some extent. For instance, student from any background should have knowledge about what is happening around the world, what is going to be the major changes in world politics etc. These knowledge help a student to be a well-rounded people and the companies also give value to such kind of well-rounded employee.

In conclusion, I agree with the decision of universities, which require the students to take courses only from their respective field. Because the rule of taking courses within their specific area helps the students to save money as well as valuable time. By this policy, student can develop expertise in their respective field which facilitates them to reach at zenith in their profession.