Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

Whether the history should preserve or not is a matter of debate. Some people are in the support of destroying the archaic establishments and building modern infrastructures. This essay will argue why the historical buildings should be preserved and provide evidence.

To begin with, the history should be maintained for a number of reasons. Firstly, these structures provide an insight about a nation, showing how our ancestors used to live and thrived to become a successful nation. Without these evidence, we could know only by reading books, which might not be effective in providing the appropriate lesson. Furthermore, most of the ancient buildings have rich architecture, which assist us to develop modern building technology. These old structures are eye-catching also. For example, the beautiful Mughal establishments Lal bagh fort, which situated in the capital of Bangladesh, has been declared as world heritage site by UNESCO. A numerous number of tourists visit to Bangladesh to see this great architecture. As a result, my country earns a lot large amount of revenue from it's tourist sector. For these reasons, these archaic establishments should be preserved.

However, the modernization should not be discourages because it is needed for the development of country. I believe that old buildings can be protected in a structured and thoughtful way. To be more specific, the historic buildings can be renovated by keeping their original architecture, and these buildings can be used in modern way. These old buildings of the country are not hindered for development, rather these can be utilized in a way so that the country can be benefited from them. By studying and analyzing the past, we can take lesson, which helps us to build a better world for the future generations.

To sum up, the ancient historical buildings should not be demolished, rather these should be preserved. A country can earn valuable revenue by attracting tourist from inside and outside parts of the world, and they also provide valuable insights about our past. Therefore, these old structures should not be regarded as obstacles for development, rather they should be used in a productive way.