The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The city council of town X has concluded that if the old incandescent bulbs are replaced with the LEDs , then more money will be saved on the electrical costs in the future. Although the cited evidences seem logical and probably, however the assumption on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the city council's argument. The argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the council assumes that public buildings would accept their proposal and thus help in saving the electric costs in future. But what if the public continues to use incandescent bulbs , instead of LED's? In this case the entire purpose of the argument would be undermined. 'What if the LEDs are costlier than the incandescent bulbs?'.In this case most people might not afford buying LEDs even if they are more efficient then the incandescent bulbs.It also may happen that the public buildings aldready have bought a large supply of incandescent bulbs on discount previously and hence do not find the need to buy additional LED's.The significance of the argument would have bolstered if the city council had conducted a survey on the preferences of individual people or would have probably provided more information about the disparities in cost and efficiencies of the two types of bulbs.

In addition to this, the council assumes that since the LEDs burn brighter and hence could be used for a longer period time, therefore they are the most efficient ones available and would definitely save electric costs in the future. However are there any other bulbs as well which prove to be more efficient than LEDs ?.Like bulbs who cost less and consume lesser power than the LEDs In this case the council's argument would seem misleading as the they failed to conduct a proper survey and reached on a hasty conclusion that LEDs are the best. Also what if there are other factors contributing to the increase of electric costs in the city. For example maybe people waste more electricity by keeping the bulbs ON even when not required or there maybe presence of more number of malls,shopping-centres or gyms in the city X .These places specifically have massive number of attractive lightings to gain more customers ,which they keep ON for the entire day and which consumes a lot of power, thus increasing the electric costs of the entire city on average.The city council should thus conduct surveys to check the amount of power consumed by different places and household in the city and then reach to a proper conclusion.Also the council could provide additional information of the impact of renewable sources of energy such as solar panels on power consumption . It may happen that they prove to be more efficient that LEDs and thus save electric costs in future.

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. The argument would have strengthened considerably if the council had provided more information about what others factors could have attributed to the increase in electric costs of the city or conducted some survey to gain public insight on this change. But in the absence of these evidences the recommendation relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.