The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The author mentions that the city council wants to reduce electricity costs by gradually implementing LED’s rather than incandescent bulbs that were previously in use by gradually changing them when they wear out. The author cites two reasons for doing so but there are more factors that need to be considered while switching to LED bulbs. These unanswered factors may answer some crucial questions whether this decision would be beneficial in the long term in saving electricity costs.

Firstly, the author does mention that the LED’s burn bright than incandescent bulbs but fails to mention that if this more brightness comes at the cost of consuming more electricity. For example a 20watt bulb is more bright than a 10watt bulb but the 20 watt bulb also consumes more energy. LED’s may consume more electricity than incandescent bulbs when installed as they do burn bright. If this is true the city council’s argument falls short that installing LED’s will reduce costs in the future.

Secondly the author states that purchasing cost of the LED bulbs is lower but does not mention what is the installing cost of such LED bulbs. For example some supercars are easy to buy but their maintenance costs are very high. In a similar manner what if purchasing LED bulbs is not expensive but their maintenance and installing costs are very high compared to other bulbs. What if in the long run the maintenance costs exceed the costs to run them such that they become a bad investment?

In conclusion yes the LED bulbs are cheaper to buy and burn brighter than incandescent bulbs as the author mentioned but what questions needs to answered that are whether they will be beneficial in the long run because the city council has not mentioned some critical points while concluding that installing LED will save future costs. The city council should have been elaborate and should have mentioned more facts and figures while concluding this, such as the cost of maintenance, installation and the amount of electricity consumed by the LED bulbs should have been mentioned. If this data about the LED bulbs is provided by the city council that it would be more helpful in reaching a conclusion whether to install or not to install LED bulbs for saving costs in the long run.