If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the position would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Surely, when a person has more experience in any field, he has a better understanding of the complexities involved in the job and has gained an

overall insight about how the job actually works and what all requirements are needed to excel in it. But the author overstates the claim that the job

should go only to the applicant with more experience. Hence I partially agree with the statement that if two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the given examples below

For instance our education system in general, teaches more of theoretical concepts than practical applications as a result of which many graduates flounder when it comes to actually working in some company because although they may be strong in their concepts, they are not skilled enough when it comes to actually implementing those concepts. Therefore, when a person who has gained precocious experience in that field, can be considered as a better candidate for the job as he has developed some skills required to work in that company. For example, consider a computer science student

who knows the basic concepts involved in any programming language and can solve problems based on whatever limited scope his college has taught.

But consider another computer science student, who has worked with some company as an intern and was able to solve the out of box and unique questions given by that company as a task to him. Therefore this particular student has gained some extra knowledge that was highly demanded in today's job market and was thus considered to be more consummate and efficient than the other student. Therefore his chances of getting a job was

much higher.

However, in contrast to the statement, gaining more experience in terms of number of internships does not always lead to the conclusion that he would be more qualified for that particular job. It is not the number of internships that you have done but the quality of work which determine the diligence and efficiency of that person for that job. To build up on the same example as above, consider a person who has done 5 internships and another who has

done 2 internships. We cannot always conclude that the one with more number of internships is definitely more experienced and skillful then that one with lesser number. What if the one with lesser number of internships has in fact worked hard in some reputed company for much longer time has gained more over his filed of study whereas the other person has just worked for different companies but still hasn't grasped any practical knowledge over any one such skillset and still proves out to be inexperienced than the other.

Thus to sum up, although gaining some experience would always prove beneficial for getting a job as it makes you more of an experienced and skillful person. But more experience in terms of its quality and not the quantity should be the primary goal of the recruiters while considering any particular job application.