The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the citys electric expenses by switching all lights in public buildings from invandescent bulb to light emitting diodes(LED). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burb out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electric costs in future.

The argument states that city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes in order to save money on electric costs in future. While the argument may seem logical and probable, more questions need to be answered before going ahead with the decision.

The argument states that the switch from old incandescent bulbs to new LED bulbs will be made gradually as the old bulbs burn out. However, the question to be asked here is that are the new LED bulbs being purchased together as a set or individually? If the led bulbs are purchased individually, then they may cost more money as compared to buying them together. And if the LED bulbs are purchased together, then what will be their storing cost? More research needs to be conducted regarding the same.

The argument further adds that led lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase. However, what is the warranty on the led bulbs? What will be their maintenance cost? If they burn out in a few weeks time, then it may result in increase in the cost of electric expenses rather than saving. Also, what inconvenience will the project result in to local people? Are other ways being sort out to reduce this inconvenience caused? More data needs to be gathered regarding the same.

Lastly, will the cost of this project result in reduction in spending in other areas, such as healthcare, education? If yes, then how will it affect the local people? Because such a scenario may make local citizens angry, which can result in protest.

While the idea of replacing the incandescent bulbs with led bulbs may be a good one, the argument presented has a lot of loopholes which have to be filled. Thus, only after conducting thorough research regarding the above questions should the decision be taken.