The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The argument for which store would be more profitable is a very hard task in determing which one it will be. There are many factors that could lead to either one coming out on top. The opposing ideologies of both stores is what will eventually determine who comes out on top.

Just becauase the median income of the population is $75,000 does not mean the population is willing to pay an exuberant amount of money clothing. Most people like to save or invest their money for later down the line instead spending all of it. Most wealthy people I know are frugal with their spending.

The argument that as the median income goes up the population is willing to pay more money for clothing is not exactly true. People expect to pay the same amount for an item of equal value whether they make more or less money. The value of the item is more important in the eyes of the consumer. Only a shift in market value would make the wealthier population be willing to pay more for the same items.

Roscoe's argument that suburbs are home to more family oriented population is true. Suburbs are usually home to mostly middle-aged families with children. So, although these families might have good money the city of Winston they most likely have children and their bills to take care of. These families most likely are either saving for big purchases or paying their family's bills.

Therefore, Roscoe's has the best argument for opening a new store in Winston. Roscoe's more affordable clothing grants these suburban families with the chance to purchase stylish clothes while also being able to save some money for a rainy day.