The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Namen and Roscoe are both fashion stores in the city of Winston, looking to open a new store in the suburbs of Salem. Both stores make bold justifications about why their store would be successful in Salem. However, Namen and Roscoe jump to conclusions for the Salem demographic, which was not rooted in any type of research.

First, there are certain questions that should be answered about the growing suburb of Salem. While we know it is a suburb, has grown over 50% in the last three years, and the median income is $75,000, both Namen and Roscoe make bold assumptions about the type of people living in Salem. Some important questions we would have to ask to get a more accurate picture is what the cost of living is in Salem versus Winston, the population demographics (age, race, occupations, etc)., and what the median income of Namen and Roscoe's usual shopper is.

To specifically address claims Namen made, Namen's executives say that people would be more willing to spend money on clothing as their income increases. While that may or may not be the case, Namen would have to be more familiar with the population of Salem and what their spending habits are. It is possible that residents of Salem, while experiencing a rise in income, could be saving for or buying cars, houses, or are looking to start a family. Just because their income is increasing, does not mean that they would be more willing to spend money on clothes.

As for Roscoe, their executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, so their more affordable fashion options should be more attractive to that demographic. Though this may be the case, it is impossible to say whether this is true without more information. Most importantly, we would have to know more about Salem's population. Just because we know that Salem is a suburb, this does not necessarily mean that there are families. For example, the population might be composed of new graduates who have found jobs in the area, or older people who have grandchildren.

Namen and Roscoe should not project the success of their potential Salem store to the success of their sales and buyer demographics in Winston. Winston and Salem may have very different demographics with regard to population size, income range, and buyer behavior. Both Namen and Roscoe would have to dedicate more time to researching their target population before deciding whether to open a new store in Salem.