The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a new era, fashion has evolved tremendously for people of all places round the globe. Recently, fashion has become a huge statement and a big part of people's lives. There are different outfits for different ocassions, ranging from chic work wear to colourful beach wear.

The statement takes a contrasting view of two department stores with one being high-end and sophisticated, while the other being affordable and family oriented. The executives plan on expanding in the evolving suburb of Salem with an increased median income. The income of an shop can be directly proportional to the people and place where it is situated. The suburbs of Salem has seen a rise in population, hence a rise in the demand.

The range of questions to decide which shop would have more business would depend on the existing fashion trends and western influence in Salem. Nowadays, even small regions are having access to social media and the internet. People tend to look at actors and catch up with the latest fashion trends to feel good about themselves. People are becoming less frugal to spend openly on buying new clothes. Body positivity also plays a pivotal role in shaping the fashion sense of people. Since people in the surburbs too are becoming more educated and modern, they are willing to spend on themselves and making fashion a colossal part.

To answer these recommendations, the population of Salem will likely go to Namen's store. The reason for this being the increased educated population with a higher income having affinity to catch up with the latest trends in fashion. Suburbs still being family oriented will prefer a shop that would keep them up to date with the latest trends in fashion, even if that means spending extra money. Since the last three years, the rise in the median salary makes this situation more probable.