The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The author provides information about the two shops namely, Namen and Roscoe who are fashion oriented stores. They are different from each other in terms of cost. Since both of them are planning to open the store in the new suberb Salem, we have to accept the provided data for the city. The data given about the city is limited. One question that can be raised will be what is the exact population of the city. 50% increase will not give the clear image of the population of the city. If the population of the city before 3 year would be around 100-200, then increasing 50% will be around 150 or 250 which is quite less for any business to start even if the income is high. The median income is also not at all showing the income of the most of the person. If the income in the start of the median is very less and after the median class is very high, this won't help to know whether the people are really rich in the city.

The executives of Namen believes that the population will increase and so the income and this will expand their sell. This fact can be questioned whether most of the persons have the more income. If the income preceding the median value willbe less then this will not help the store to grow their business as only half of the population will be having money to afford. The increase in population can help but their should be adequate population in order to open the store. The less people in the city will not help the store to expand properly.

The executive of Roscoe believes that the population is more family oriented and show they will come to their store as they need to be concerned to buy expensive things. But the data no where shows that the city is family oriented. If suppose the city is family oriented, then we do not know how much of the family members earn. If the family have more members to earn such high income then they will not think much to spend on the expensive things. They will be quite comfortable to buy expensive things even if they are family oriented.

The data presented by the author is not at all sufficient to decide on the asumption. The family size and the family income and the family expenditure all the things as a whole will be used to conclude which store will be good for this city. Also, the mood of the population matters. Sometime, the population may earn less but are more concerned to buy expensive things and sometimes even if they are earning more, they can be more focused to buy less expensive items. So, the exact conclusion from these data will not be predicted with these limited data and more clear data is needed.