Clay pots of a particular specific design have earlier been found in the surrounding area of the prehistoric village of Karia and so were supposed to have been made exclusively by the people from Karia. However, of late, archeologists discovered a 'Karian' clay pot in Toga, an ancient village across the Mist River from Karia. The Mist River is very deep and wide, and so the ancient Karians could have crossed it only by boat, and no Karian boats have been found. Hence it is obvious that the so-called Karian clay pots are not uniquely Karian.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument seems to jump to a hasty conclusion. The evidence is simply not enough. We can resort to conjecture at best. There is no evidence presented about whether the river changed its course in the intervening millennia, or whether its water level has remained steady. Also, we cannot really know for sure if they indeed used boats yet. How thorough was the excavation? Thus it seems that the argument needs some more conclusive evidence. Let us discuss this further.

It is assumed that river flow is steady and not prone to changes over the millennia. However, nature is in a constant flux. It is very plausible that Karians had access to a ford that allowed them to cross without boats, and that ford later disappeared. If that is so, then Toga might have been a branch of Karia sharing a similar culture and lifestyle. That would explain why the Karian pots landed in Toga. To substantiate this, we would need to date the pots from each village. If the Toga pots are more recent, it is very likely they originated from Karia.

If the river changed course, then it explains why the boats are not discovered yet. The current banks may be different from back then. A small alteration in the route of the river, would mean that boats may have been buried in the river bed. Humans themselves possess the ability to change river courses as per their needs. Romans changed the course of the Tiber river. If future empires altered the course of the river, it is also possible that both villages once fell on the same side of the river , and may indeed have been one. We need more evidence regarding the Mist River's past to come to a conclusion.

The archaeologists need to analyse the other artefacts found in the villages and look for similarities. If they too far apart, it stands to reason that Toga was indeed a different culture from Karia and then the pots are really not that unique. But we find similarities, again, it is likely that Toga was just a branch of Karia. Without further such evidence, we really cannot comment about this uniqueness of the 'Karian' pots.

The argument is very compelling and with more evidence can be strengthened or weakened. The above mentioned points illustrate some glaring holes in the evidence that need to be plugged before we figure out the Karian pot mystery.